Year-End & Rahman???s Sabbatical

Viju:

Aishwarya and I began writing here on Rahmania mid-November, and it’s been quite a journey. I sure am not a good writer, but I’ve tried to express my thoughts in the best way I could, and I am quite happy the way this blog has shaped up. 13 posts with 3 guest posts, and 6 individual posts each, is surely a good way to begin; and we hope to have more diverse posts in 2011.

The end of the year brought about some news about A.R.Rahman taking a sabbatical, with it probably having to with the spate of ‘flops’. While I shall not comment on music of Raavan and Jhootha Hi Sahi taking the blame for the movies’ dismal performance, it indeed came as a shock to me. Surely, everyone needs a break, and with A.R.Rahman being in the peak of his international career has taken a brave decision, and I just hope he bounces back much better than ever.

Here’s wishing you all a very happy new year and a musical one at that!

Aishwarya:

2010 has been a very busy year for Rahman. I think the last time he had so many albums released was back in 2000. This year, some of his albums have been good, and others, simply average. I guess there are a couple of soundtracks releasing next year. I am particularly excited about Rockstar. I just hope there isn’t a Punjabi track in the soundtrack – it IS an Imtiaz Ali film after all.

The sabbatical should do him a world of good.  But not having a Rahman album to look forward to is sad. 

And I cannot believe we’ve had so many posts in only 6 weeks! It feels like we’ve had the blog for months.  If you have any suggestions, do tell us.

Happy New Year.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Year-End & Rahman???s Sabbatical

  1. gradwolf

    I do think 2008 – 2010 were an overload so this sabbatical is a good idea and will also be much easier to take. And if it’s hard to take, there is Rockstar to look forward to anyway!(with the subject, music is gonna be an integral part, so Rahman would have worked extensively + Imtiaz Ali is one key guy)

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Sure 2008-2010 were an overload, and probably the expectations went too high post-Oscars! In any case, it is a good thing for him to take a break and rejuvenate. And yes, Imtiaz Ali is a key guy, and hope he gets some good tunes from ARR.

    Reply

Do leave your thoughts :-)

